Flower of Cities All
Various Composers
English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble

Playing time 56 mins.





The ECSE are:
Fiona Russell: treble/alto cornett
Gawain Glenton: cornett
Emily White: alto/tenor sackbut
Tom Lees: tenor sackbut
Adrian France: bass/tenor sackbut
William Lyons: dulcian
Robert Howarth: virginals
David Miller: lute
Matthew Wadsworth: lute
Mark Chambers: counter-tenor

English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble celebrate the Music of Renaissance London
This recording is representative of the music that was heard and played in London during what is rightly referred to as the 'Golden Age' of English music making. The sheer variety of music available from such a teeming and diverse metropolis is astonishing and this collection finds this specialist ensemble with guest vocalist, Mark Chambers (counter tenor) exploring the works of Anthony Holborne, William, Byrd, John Dowland, John Adson and Giles Farnaby among others.

The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble was formed in 1993 by London's leading young specialists on early brass instruments and is now one of the most respected ensembles in its field.  Following the success of their debut CD 'Accendo', The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble have continued to be involved in many exciting and innovative projects making world premiere recordings and collaborating with other leading period instrument groups. 

Track List
1) The Song Called Trumpets
2) Wanton
3) Paradizo
4) My Selfe
5) The Bells
6) Venus’ Birds
7) The Queen’s Good Night
8) Pakington’s Pownde
9) Miserere
10) Christe Qui Lux
11) Flow my Teares
12) Semper Dowland, Semper Dolens
13) Courtly Masquing Ayre
14) All ye who love
15) Rowland
16) Fortune My Foe
17) Fortune My Foe
18) Pawles Wharfe
19) The Leaves be Green
20) The Bull Maske
21) Adson’s Maske
22) Fair Britain Isle
23) Fantasia a5 no. 3
24) O Mistris Myne
25) The Lord Zouche’s Maske
26) Grayes Inne Maske
27) Courtly Masquing Ayre
28) Courtly Masquing Ayre